MOT rule changes: 20 May 2018

A summary of the new defect categories for all MOTs

Fixter avatar
Written by Fixter
Updated over a week ago

Since May 2018, defects found during an MOT are categorised as either:

* Dangerous - A direct and immediate risk to road safety or has a serious impact on the environment. (Repair immediately)

* Major - It may affect the vehicle’s safety, put other road users at risk or have an impact on the environment. (Repair immediately)

* Minor - No significant effect on the safety of the vehicle or impact on the environment. ( Repair as soon as possible)

There are also Advisories, which will require your attention in the near future.

And, of course, the categorisation we all want to see: Pass - meaning the vehicle meets the minimum legal standard.

As a general rule, it's good practice to keep on top your servicing and get anything unusual, such as a warning light engaging, checked out early. This helps avoid escalating problems and/or finding expensive nasties during your routine MOT.

For advice on how to pass your MOT first time, read our handy guide here

If you cannot find what you are looking for, please click here to get more details on the DVLA website.

Did this answer your question?